It’s Monday! Ink & Bone, Eats Shoots & Leaves part 2

Okay. I wish I could say I’d gotten a ton of reading done this week, but the fact of the matter is, I haven’t. Sometimes being an adult sucks. I love reading. It’s one of my favorite things to do, but sometimes carving out time to do it isn’t the easiest. Especially when you work a full time job, are trying to write several different things, and are trying to take care of your house like a responsible adult. Okay, enough of the excuses. I just need to add yet another thing into my already packed schedule. And no, I can’t cut down on T.V. I barely watch any as it is. Anyway…

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

615qD7ete4L

The little progress I’ve made in this book has been great. Yet again, I feel myself getting frustrated when I’m just getting into it and life intrudes on my fantasy. Here’s a synopsis of what I know so far. The legendary Library of Alexandria never burned down. It’s now THE power in the world. From what I can tell, books can be borrowed from the library by anyone in the world, but owning them is illegal.

That’s where Jess comes in. Jess’ father is a book dealer and thus, a criminal. Jess spent his childhood smuggling books for his father. Now that he’s grown, the business was supposed to pass to him. Unfortunately, he loves books too much, so he asks his father to leave the business to his twin brother.

His father agrees, on the condition that Jess take a job at the library. Normally this would be Jess’ dream job, if it weren’t for the fact that his father expects him to steal books from the library to supply the family business.

And that’s where I’m at on this one. I can’t wait to find out what happens next. Hopefully I’ll get some serious reading time in the coming week.

Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss

41ra3JnfuJL._SX345_BO1,204,203,200_I’m afraid I haven’t touched this one n the past week. I need to pick this one up whenever I need a quick laugh.

I never thought I’d say that about a book on punctuation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And I’m afraid that’s really it for the week. I feel so ashamed. Looking at my schedule, I think I see three different places where I might be able to carve out an hour or so.

If you have any book recommendations, I’d love to hear them.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under It's Monday!, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

