It’s Not Monday! But Still… Eve: The Awakening, Eats, Shoots & Leaves

I know, I know. I’m a terrible human being because I’m late again. Can I play the “But I’m an artist.” card? No? Worth a try.

Actually, this time my tardiness this time is by design. You see, I was closing in on finishing the book and I really wanted to be able to give a full review instead of a partial one. Anyway here goes.

Eve: The Awakening by Jenna Moreci

415Vh64vDoL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_After much frustration at being constantly interrupted while I was trying to finish this book, I finally managed to get to the end. Overall, I loved it. The action scenes were very well written if you can get past a couple of realism issues I’ll get to in a minute. I thought that the main characters were very well written. Even the human antagonists, while being very stereotypical “mean girls” were believable to me as I’ve known plenty of girls (and guys) just like them. I particularly liked Percy. as he was great for breaking the tension with his humor. Maybe it’s because I spent my share of time as an outcast in my youth before I learned to embrace it, I really identified with Eve’s character.

Now for the bad.

First of all, and this is one thing that might bother me more than most. The book does an awful lot of “head hopping”. That is, changing point of view from one character to another without any sort of indication or warning. Sometimes, this POV change was fairly obvious, while other times, it took me several paragraphs to realize we were no longer in Eve’s head. I realize that sometimes this sort of thing is necessary, but it really makes things confusing and should at least have some indication that it’s happened.

As I said, the action scenes were great barring a few realism issues. But first, a spoiler warning. While I don’t feel like the spoilers I’m about to give are that huge, you still might want to look away if you’re sensitive to such things.

So here goes. First, there are the diamond bullets. While an interesting idea, the bullets, as I understand them in the book, are ones they’ve specially made out of unbreakable synthetic diamonds. As I read it, it sounded like the bullets were made of solid diamond. Apologies to the author if I misunderstood. Solid diamond bullets simply would not work in a firearm. The bullet needs a jacket of lead, copper, or some other soft metal to engage the rifling of the barrel which gives it the necessary spin to make it accurate. At best, a solid diamond bullet would tear up you barrel and tumble in every direction other than the one you want it to. At worst, it would jam in the barrel and your gun would explode on the next trigger pull.

Also, the book suffers from the old Hollywood unlimited ammo trope. When in the heat of battle, the characters seem to have a near inexhaustible supply of ammo even though it’s specifically mentioned when the bullets are revealed that there is a very finite supply of them. There is no real mention of them carrying extra ammo, but they always seem to have enough bullets, no matter how many enemies they face. It’s only toward the very end that there’s even a mention of a magazine change. Also, ammo is heavy. Even if the book had mentioned carrying extra, they would have needed a lot of extra ammo. More than they could realistically carry.

Finally, this is the one that had me screaming in my head at the book. In just about every fight scene with the interlopers, either the main character or her boyfriend find themselves somehow pinned to the floor or otherwise incapacitated with their weapon or some other important object just out of reach. Now I understand. This sort of thing raises tension, the problem is, both Eve and her boyfriend Jason are chimeras. This means they have the power of telekinesis. Neither of them thinks anything of using this power to pick up their enemies and slam them against the wall repeatedly, but not once does either of them use this gift to draw their weapon or object to their hand. I would call this the book’s most glaring problem, especially since that particular trope is used repeatedly.

Still, if you can get past those problems, I would highly recommend this book. I found it very entertaining, and I have nothing but respect for Jenna Moreci, the author. I watch her YouTube videos on writing religiously.

Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss

41ra3JnfuJL._SX345_BO1,204,203,200_Not to toot my own horn, but I’m pretty damned good when it comes to spelling and general grammar. That being said, punctuation is my weakness. Obviously I know the basics, but even my comma placement is done more by feel than actual knowledge. I have a vague idea of what a semicolon is for, but beyond that, I’m lost. I have several editions of Strunk & White and other style guides, but quite frankly, they’re typically so dry that my mind wanders and I couldn’t tell you what I just read. Blame it on undiagnosed ADD. I’m hoping the humor in this book can help with that.

One caveat I’ve heard from other writers. The author is British, so there are a few things that may not be appropriate in America. Still, I’m just looking for a basic overview to point me in the right direction.

Anyway, that’s it for today. I should see you tomorrow with an on-time What’s Up Wednesday. I’ll see you then.

As always, don’t forget to stalk me online.

www.justinmkelly.com

Check me out on Facebook

On Twitter @JustinMKelly1

My Amazon page, in case you want to read more

And on Goodreads

And YouTube

I also post a copy of this blog on Tumblr

Leave a comment

Filed under It's Monday!, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

