It’s Monday! Enders, The Man In The High Castle, Eve: The Awakening, You Are A Writer

Enders, by Lissa Price

51J+favcB4L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_I loved both of the books in this series. They were very creative and entertaining. I must admit, through both of them I had a fear that the masked villain would turn out to be a certain character. It would have not only ruined the entire series, but it would have been incredibly cliche. Thankfully, the author chose not to go that direction. I really liked the way she wrapped up everything neatly by the end of the book but still left it open for a sequel. When I met her, she hinted that there might be at least one more on the way and I’m really hoping it’s true.

 

 

The Man In The High Castle, by Philip K. Dick2016-12-19-1482180717-9274817-themaninthehighcastlepaperback

I know I said I wouldn’t talk about this one until I’d finished it. Well, I finally forced myself to sit down and do just that and I have to say, the ending was just as underwhelming as the rest of the book.

Spoilers Below.

If you don’t already know, The Man in the High Castle takes place in a world where the axis powers won world war two. It basically chronicles the lives of several people living in this world. It deals with a lot of the politics of a German/Japanese occupied America. In this world, there is a book written by a reclusive author that describes a world in which America had won the war (How meta). One of the characters is on a quest to find this author so she can ask him questions about it. When she finally reaches him, he reveals that GASP America actually did win the war, Unfortunately, it’s just left at that. No explanation of how Germany convinced everyone that they had actually won or whether it’s actually a parallel dimension or what.

End of spoilers.

Again, I hate to disparage such a legendary sci-fi writer, but this one just didn’t do it for me. At least I can say I’ve read it.

Eve: The Awakening by Jenna Moreci

415Vh64vDoL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_I’ve been wanting to read this one for a while. I follow Jenna on YouTube. She’s full of great advice on the writing craft and just living life as a writer. She’s one of the people who inspired me to start my own channel.

I’ve just started reading this one so I wish I could tell you more about it, bu I know this much. Eve lives in a futuristic California and is what’s known as a Chimera. Not like the greek myth, but a new stage in human evolution. From what I can see so far, she has the power of telekinesis. I can’t wait to get further into it. So far, it’s as amazing as its author,

 

 

 

You Are a Writer (So Start Acting Like One) by Jeff Goins41Qa4s+C1LL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

What can I say? The title of this book speaks for itself. Full disclosure, I’ve read this one before, but I had to re-read it after a brief bout of self-doubt. Jeff’s book always makes me feel more confident in myself as a writer. I highly recommend it. Especially if you find yourself getting sidetracked with all the other little things that come with being a writer.

 

 

 

 

 

I’ll see you all again on Wednesday.

As always, don’t forget to stalk me online.

www.justinmkelly.com

Check me out on Facebook

On Twitter @JustinMKelly1

My Amazon page, in case you want to read more

And on Goodreads

And on YouTube

I also post a copy of this blog on Tumblr

Leave a comment

Filed under It's Monday!

Leave a Reply

