It’s Monday! Starters, Enders, The Man In The High Castle, 5000 Words Per Hour

Starters, By Lissa Price

13512021I finished this one just after my post last week and I have to say, this book was great. I’m a big fan of dystopian YA in the first place, but this put a very interesting spin on the genre. One of the big questions in any YA book is, “Why does the main character have to deal with this? Why doesn’t she go to a parent/police, etc.?” In this series, the world is divided into starters (the young) and Enders (the elderly). All the middles are dead. If you’re an unclaimed starter, you have basically no rights. Most enders see you as street trash. Starters aren’t allowed to have jobs to ensure Enders don’t get forced out of theirs. Basically, enders are seen as the enemy. I’ll stop there, but I highly recommend this book. Also, I know I’ve said this before, but Mrs. Price is an absolute sweetheart. I got to meet her last summer at Pitchfest/Thrillerfest and she was very helpful and supportive.

Enders, by Lissa Price

51J+favcB4L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_ If you haven’t guessed already, this is the sequel to Starters. It continues the story of Callie and Michael, and adds a few new characters. Her, and a group of other metals, (starters with chips in their heads) are being rounded up by various factions looking to use them for their own nefarious purposes. I don’t want to give too much away, because I want you to read it for yourself. Also, because I’m only about three-quarters of the way through, and although I have some ideas, I don’t know for sure how it ends yet.

If I do have one criticism for the series, it’s this. I know Callie’s a teenage girl, but she seems to have a bad habit of developing feelings for every guy her age she spends any amount of time with. A bad idea in a world where it seems everyone is out to use her. Still, that’s a minor criticism and I have to admit that, though thankfully not every teenage girl is like that, it is a character trait I’ve seen in some. Just my two cents.

Still, I’ve loved both books so far, even though at times, you just want something to go right for her.

One last thing. The tagline for this book is “The end is about to begin”. However, Mrs. Price signed my book and gave me a possible secret message. I’ll let you draw your own conclusions.

File Mar 27, 2 46 08 AM

The Man In The High Castle, by Philip K. Dick

2016-12-19-1482180717-9274817-themaninthehighcastlepaperback I have made absolutely no progress on this one. It’s been relegated to a “bathroom book”. It’s there in the bathroom for me to read if I should forget my phone or the book I’m reading. I really need to just buckle down and finish it, but quite frankly, I’m bored with it at this point. Still, I’ve never been beaten by a book, so I will finish it. Maybe something extremely exciting will happen in the last few pages, but I’m not going to hold my breath. This is one of the rare cases where the movie (okay, t.v. series) is better than the book. I won’t post about this one again until I finish it.

5,000 Words Per Hour: Write Faster, Write Smarter by Chris Fox

51gqAWVUU4L I finished this one fairly quickly. While it was a short read, it was very informational. As I expected, a lot of the speed in writing comes from extensive preparation. As I’ve stated before, I’m a pantser. I’ve tried outlining in the past and have had no luck with it. I find if I know too much about my story, I get bored and eventually lose interest. Still, this book makes me wonder if I should try it once more. I still don’t ever expect to get to five thousand words an hour (I’m just not that fast a typer.) Even if I can get to three thousand a day, I’d actually finish projects. I’m starting to think if I had a basic roadmap, I might not get lost so much. I’m going to try outlining in “Daughters of the Flame”, the sequel to my short-story Bloodmoon, and second in the Children of Pyrelia series.

So that’s it for today. I’ve included Amazon links to all of the books above just in case you want to check them out. Just click on the title, or the cover and it’ll take you there.

www.justinmkelly.com

Check me out on Facebook

On Twitter @JustinMKelly1

My Amazon page, in case you want to read more

And on Goodreads

And on YouTube

I also post a copy of this blog on Tumblr

1 Comment

Filed under It's Monday!

One response to “It’s Monday! Starters, Enders, The Man In The High Castle, 5000 Words Per Hour

  1. Hi Justin, I just read 5,000 Words Per Hour last week and really enjoyed Chris Fox’s information. It led me to purchase his other books and I’m finding them really helpful also – they’ve definitely lit a fire under me, which I needed. Mainly, it got me thinking about tracking my words as a writer, something which hadn’t occurred to me before. I wasn’t able to use his companion app to track my words because I use android devices and his app was IOS only. After a bit of searching, I was able to find a similar writing app for Android devices called Writometer which is really helping me to keep track of, and stay accountable for my writing goals. I’m not able to get anywhere near 5,000 words an hour yet, but I’m hopeful. Thanks for the post and good luck on your writing!

Leave a Reply

