It’s Monday: Starters, The Man In The High Castle, part 2

Okay. I’ve been slacking on my reading. The truth is, between regular blogging, relaunching my vlog, and all the other social media duties involved with getting my name out there, not to mention finding time to actually get words on the page, I have been really neglecting my reading. Funny how I’ve had time to watch several movies and binge-watch Hawaii Five o. I really need to get my priorities straight.

Anyway.

Starters, By Lissa Price

13512021 So far, I’m loving this book Every time I pick it up, I don’t want to put it down. Unfortunately, it seems something always forces me to. Without giving too much away, I just got to a pivotal scene and things are about to get real. I almost can’t wait to finish this one so I can devour the next one. Also, a little birdie hinted to me that there might be a third on the way.

The Man In The High Castle, by Philip K. Dick

2016-12-19-1482180717-9274817-themaninthehighcastlepaperback I have to admit, I’m still struggling with this one. As much as I want to like it because it was written by one of the masters of sci-fi, I’m just not getting into it. To its credit, it does seem that something is finally going to happen. Unfortunately, I’m over 80% through the book, so it had better happen fast. At this point, I refuse to give up, but I almost feel like I’m back in high-school and being forced to read a fairly dry textbook.

5,000 Words Per Hour: Write Faster, Write Smarter by Chris Fox

51gqAWVUU4L After reading the first book in the series in the course of a night at work, I quickly moved on to this one. I’ve only begun reading it, but so far it’s filled with valuable information. For me personally, I don’t know if I’ll ever get to 5,000 words per hour because his method is rooted in diligent plotting and I get bored if I know too much about my story. Even if I can reach one or two thousand words an hour, I’d be a happy man. If you like to plot, I highly recommend this series. He also has a ton of informational videos on YouTube.

That’s it for today. Sorry for the short post, but with the exception of the nonfiction title, I said pretty much all I had to say last week. Hopefully next week I’ll be back on track and I’ll have new books to tell you about.

As always, don’t forget to stalk me online.

www.justinmkelly.com

Check me out on Facebook

On Twitter @JustinMKelly1

My Amazon page, in case you want to read more

And on Goodreads

And on YouTube

I also post a copy of this blog on Tumblr

Leave a comment

Filed under It's Monday!

Leave a Reply

