It’s Monday! The Man In The High Castle, Starters

Hey guys.

This is the first post of this type for me. On Mondays, I’ll fill you in on what I’ve been reading. My girlfriend turned me on to this and I’m hoping it’ll help keep my reading on track.

I’ll start with, The Man In The High Castle, by Philip K. Dick2016-12-19-1482180717-9274817-themaninthehighcastlepaperback

I know it’s blasphemy, but I’m having a really hard time getting through this one. I started reading it after watching the Amazon series of the same name. (I highly recommend watching it if you have an Amazon Prime account.) Unfortunately, the book isn’t nearly as exciting as the show that was adapted from it.

Like the show, the book is about what the world would have been like had the Nazi’s and Japan won the war. Unfortunately, save for a few characters, that’s about where the similarities end.  I’m over two thirds through it and to be perfectly honest, with the exception of one brief scene, I’m still waiting for something to happen. Maybe I got my hopes up too high after watching the show, but the book so far is just what it appears to be on the face. An alternate history of the United States. Other than that, there’s no real sci-fi element so far. I’m afraid if something big doesn’t happen soon, it’s not going to.

I’m also reading Starters, By Lissa Price.

13512021

I’m not very far into this one yet, but so far it’s fascinating. A year after the war wiped out all adults, all that are left ate the young (starters) and the elderly (enders). The enders have taken all the wealth and left the starters with nothing. Callie is a starter looking out for her little brother. Since the laws don’t allow anyone under eighteen to take a job, she resorts to the only way people her age are able to make money. She rents out her body to enders looking to relive their youth. Now, I’m not talking about prostitution. She signs with a company that’s developed a way to let enders take control of her body and live as a young girl for a time. I don’t want to give too much away, but an elderly person borrowing her body is just the beginning of her problems.

As a side note, I had the pleasure of meeting Ms. Price in person at Pitchfest where she coached me before I pitched to actual agents and she was incredibly sweet and helpful. I ended up buying two copies of both Starters and Enders, the sequel for her to sign. One set for Shannon and I, and another for a friend of ours who had loved Starters.

Finally, for my nonfiction selection, I read Lifelong Writing Habit: The Secret To Writing Every Day by Chris Fox

51c7IluauNL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

It’s been an invaluable resource for helping me get organized and write every day (okay, okay, not every day, but I’m getting there). I’m slowly becoming more productive too, although I don’t think I’ll ever get to the five thousand words a day he says I can. I have a feeling those kinds of numbers only come with meticulous outlining and I’m a dyed in the wool pantser. To be honest, the main reason I write is for my own entertainment and I lose that if I have more than a basic idea of what might happen in the story.

Still, a lot of his advice still has value for a stubborn old pantser like me. Thanks to Mr. Fox, hopefully you’ll soon start seeing lots of new work from me. I’m reading his 5,000 Words Per Hour: Write Faster, Write Smarter, next. Hopefully he can get me to at least three thousand words a day.

Well, that’s about it for today. Come back on Wednesday for the rest of my adventures at Thrillerfest and, if there’s time, loose in the city.

As always, check me out at…

www.justinmkelly.com

Check me out on Facebook

On Twitter @JustinMKelly1

My Amazon page, in case you want to read more

And on Goodreads

And on YouTube

I also post a copy of this blog on Tumblr

Leave a comment

Filed under It's Monday!, Writing

Leave a Reply

