It’s March Already?!?!?!? My Trip To NYC For Thrillerfest/Pitchfest 2016 part 1

Are we really already two full months into the year already? Say it isn’t so. Well, I guess it’s better late than never.

So here it is, my first blog post of 2017.

A lot has happened between my last post and now. Unfortunately, not much of it has been writing related.

Actually, looking back at my last post, I realize that a lot has actually happened both in my personal life and my career. I’m just now realizing that I haven’t posted since May of last year. I truly am ashamed. Well, no point crying over spilled milk. I’m not going to promise to do better. I know I’ve made that promise over and over in the past and haven’t delivered. So this time, rather than tell you I’m going to post more regularly, I’ll just have to show you.

So as I was saying, a lot has happened in both my personal life and my career since my last post. The last time we talked, I was getting ready to go to Thrillerfest/Pitchfest in NYC. I went, and it was an absolutely amazing experience. Sandra Brannan, author of the Liv Bergen mystery series, and a personal friend of mine, runs Pitchfest. When she invited me to come, she described it as speed dating with agents. I couldn’t have been more excited.

Upon arriving in NYC, a city I haven’t visited since a class trip in seventh grade, I was amazed. I have spent my share of time in big cities, but none of them are quite like New York. Just the sheer press of people at all hours of the day and night is enough to make you claustrophobic. I climbed into my first New York taxi, and he dropped me off in front of my home for the several days, The Jane Hotel.

the_jane_hotel_exterior_new_york_ny_unitedstates

It’s an awesome little throwback hotel complete with a staff dressed in classic bellboy uniforms. Everyone there was extremely helpful. They quickly checked me in without an issue and I took the elevator up to my room.

standard-cabin

That’s it. That’s the entire room. Actually, believe it or not, the picture makes it look a little bigger than it actually is. Apparently, when it opened, it catered to sailors who were used to tiny berths. Still, I was in The Big Apple to meet with publishers. I didn’t plan on spending much time in it anyway. Besides, at less than $100 a night for a guy flying solo, it was a great deal.

The next morning, I was up early, jumped in the communal shower at the end of the hall before most of the other guests were even awake, put on my best suit, and was out the door ready to make the long walk to the nearest subway station. I quickly rethought this when I was greeted with a blast as if from a hair dryer as I opened the doors. Knowing I was going to be meeting with agents, the last thing I wanted to do was walk over a mile in near 100 degree weather in a suit. I quickly slipped back inside and did the only sensible thing. I called myself an Uber.

Before I knew it, I was walking through the revolving door of the Grand Hyatt, NYC, ready to meet with agents. I did my best not to look like a tourist, but it’s hard when 1. you’re walking into such an enormous and beautiful lobby (They call it the GRAND for a reason), and 2. you have no idea where you’re supposed to be.

Fortunately, I noticed several people with badges around their necks who told me where to go. (No, not like that.)

Upon arriving on the proper floor, I was immediately starstruck. There were famous authors such as Lee Child, Heather Graham (the writer, not the actress), Gillian Flynn, and R.L. Stine, just standing around mingling with everyone else just like they were regular people.

As it turns out, they really are, but more on that later.

Luckily, I was brought back to earth by a familiar and smiling (if somewhat frazzled) face. Sandra Brannan quickly ran me through the registration process before bustling off to continue getting everything set up for Pitchfest.

I wasn’t expecting all the swag they gave me. Books by authors in attendance that hadn’t even been published yet. I believe one was a galley proof. I made sure to get as many of them signed as possible. There was also a baseball cap, my id badge, which came in a neck wallet which came in handy during the rest of my adventures in New York, and of course, itineraries, programs, and a map so I didn’t get lost.

And I think that’s where I need to stop for the day. I’ll post part two tomorrow, but unfortunately, there’s just too much to tell in one post.

I swear I won’t leave you hanging for too long.

Leave a comment

Filed under Career, Writing

Leave a Reply

