I’ve Got Good News And Bad News

I know I’m a few days late with this update, but at least it’s not a few months this time like it usually is.

Like the title says, I’ve got good news and bad news. Let’s start with the good news, shall we?

The good news is this, It’s been over three weeks since I pledged to write every single day this year and so far, I have been true to that pledge. What’s more, I think it really has turned into a habit. Yesterday I came close to falling off the wagon. I realized I hadn’t written a word just before I needed to get some sleep before work. I was disappointed in myself but I tried to tell myself I would make up for it by writing twice as much today.

Although I was dog tired, the knowledge that I had failed ate at me and kept me from sleeping. Sure, I could have lied about it and nobody would have been the wiser, but I would have known. So I did the only thing I could. I got my ass out of bed, sat it down at the computer and proceeded to type. This is a big step for someone who has never been very good at following through with anything.

Now for the bad news.

This story sucks.

I mean it really, truly, SUCKS.

It still seems like a decent plot, but I’m having a hard time making it work. Each day I add to it, but I’m 34 pages in and it just doesn’t feel like the story is going anywhere. I feel like I’m spending too long on things that don’t really matter and glossing over the things that do. I feel like ninety percent of the story so far is people talking. There is nothing wrong with a dialogue heavy story, particularly for a drama, but this is supposed to be a fantasy story with lots of action. Other than the initial scene, (which I must admit is what sparked the idea to write the story in the first place,) not much has happened. It feels more like a day to day account of a person’s life. I really need to sit down and try doing a more thorough outline, but to be perfectly honest, I don’t feel like I have much passion for this particular story.

I really hate the thought of quitting in the middle of the story, but this one just feels like a dud. Maybe it just needs more time to ferment in my brain before it’s ready to spill out onto the page. I think I might step away from it for a couple of weeks and then reread what I have and see if I think it’s salvageable.  I do have a couple other ideas I’m itching to play around with.

Anyway, that’s about all from this neurotic mind. I’ll see you next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Career, Writing

Leave a Reply

