Building The Habit

Well, friends. It’s been a week since the start of 2015.

I’m proud to tell you that I have written every single day so far. Sure, it’s only been a couple pages a day, but it’s much more than I did the week before that, or the week before that. I figure if I can write just a little each day, just get my butt in the seat and do it, sooner or later, I’ll have a respectable body of work. Talking myself into whipping out a couple pages is much easier than talking myself into spending an entire night exhausting my brain. Right now, I’m just trying to build the habit. Once it’s a habit, then I can work on making it an obsession. I promised myself one page a day, and some nights that’s all I’ve been able to produce. But other nights I’ve gotten through two or three without even realizing it. I’m already wanting to do more, but I want to wait until the habit is fully ingrained before I start pushing myself. I’m just stretching the muscle right now. I don’t want to strain it just yet.

Of course that analogy brings me to my other resolution. I’m sorry to say, I haven’t been as successful with that.

I have been trying to make better choices as far as meals go, but now that the holidays are over, I find that we still have an abundance of sweets in the house and more are still coming. It’s funny how friends and family will judge you for being fat and tell you how you need to lose weight, but when they need to get rid of sweets because they don’t want them in their house, guess who they dump them on. Yes, I know. I could just throw them out. Unfortunately I have a problem with wasting food. Combine that with my well documented absolute lack of will power, and the sweets get eaten, then I hate myself for doing it. Okay, rant over. I just hope the weather climbs above freezing once in a while so I can get out and get some exercise.

That’s about it for this week. I think I might crank out another page of two before bed. See you next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Career, Writing

Leave a Reply

