I’m Finished!!!!!

Finally, after much procrastination, I have finished my 35 page short story.

I know this may not sound like such an accomplishment to some of you, but for someone who’s well known for getting halfway through a story and losing interest, It’s a major accomplishment. Even better, after a little polish, I think it will actually be publishable. So far my readers agree.

Of course now I’m considering expanding it into a novel. I’m going to let it sit for a while and work on another short while I consider my options. I’m just so excited. It feels like I’ve finally broken through a wall I’ve been bumping into for years.

And now that the good news is out of the way, it’s time for a mini-rant.

I want to start by saying that I’m a huge supporter of independent writers. I think the time of the big publishing houses is drawing to a close.

(If any of them are reading this, I totally didn’t mean that. Please sign me.)

Still, many of the independent writers I’ve read have made one seemingly common mistake. They assumed that since they were self-publishing, they didn’t need to have their manuscripts looked over by a professional editor.

I will say that some of the things that are like nails on a chalkboard to me probably don’t even register with most readers. Still, I think professional authors should do everything they can to make sure their work is the best it can be.

When I see a glaring error in a book, particularly pertaining to usage, it takes me right out of the story. If there are too many of them, I may even give up on it. Let me make this clear, I almost never stop reading a book once I’ve started, but if I’m constantly being jerked back out of the story I finally have to admit defeat.

Now I’m not saying this will stop me from reading independent books but it may stop me from reading a particular author.

As for me, I will hire an editor.

Okay, rant over.

As always, check out my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/jmkelly60 and follow me on Twitter @JustinMKelly1. I’m also on Tumblr http://www.tumblr.com/blog/justinmkelly .

finish

Leave a comment

Filed under Career, Writing

Leave a Reply

