I’ve Finally Unplugged (Well, Sort Of)

Today I took a major step in my quest to become a more productive writer. I closed Facebook. I don’t mean I closed my account. I just closed the page which has been the default page of my browser for years. Now don’t laugh. I know it may not be a big deal to many of you, but for me it’s the equivalent of a crackhead putting away his pipe.

I don’t know how many times I’ve sat down at my desk to write but when I woke up my compuer there it was staring at me.

“I’ll just take a quick peek before I get to work.” I would think to myself. Hours later I would realize my writing time was up and I hadn’t written a word except perhaps to comment on someone’s cat picture.

Now am I going cold turkey? Of course not. I’ll probably still spend way too much of my free time scrolling through everyone’s posts. It’s just that now I will have to make a conscious decision to do so. Hopefully I have the will power to resist until the day’s work is done.

I’ve also decided to leave my laptop at home. I began bringing it to work to increase productivity. Unfortunately it’s been more of a distraction. I spend way too much time just surfing the internet. All I really need is my tablet and my keyboard and I can do all the writing I want. Hopefully it will also be easier on my back.

If this doesn’t work I might just have to take Hemingway’s advice and scale back to just a notebook and pencil.

image

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

