Good Writers Are Bad Influences

Whenever I look at the writers that truly inspire me, they all seem to have one thing in common; they are extremely bad influences. Drinkers, drug abusers, womanizers, cheaters, brawlers. Even fictional writers like Hank Moody in Californication and Zach Hutton in Skin Deep are drunken womanizers. The sad part is, even though I know deep down that it would in the end be a terrible way to live, a part of me still wants it. I don’t know if it’s that I’ve learned to think that is how a writer’s life is supposed to be but there it is. I know not all writers live this way, in fact, most probably don’t but it seems the ones I truly look up to all lived that way. Maybe that means there’s something wrong with me.

Truth be told, I have given up most of my bad habits. I quit smoking. I don’t drink very much anymore. I still overeat but hey, I’m trying. Sometimes I think maybe I should try drinking a little more. I’m not talking about getting falling down drunk mind you, just a little grease for the wheels so I’m not worrying so much about every word I write. It does seem my writing comes a bit more smoothly when I’ve had a drink or two.

Is this why so many writers drink so much or does writing tend to attract a certain type of person? Perhaps a writer needs the liquor as a buffer for dealing with emotions most people keep hidden. Maybe it’s a combination of all three. What do you think?

Sorry for the short post today. I am about to start my weekend which is good because I am just worn out from the week. I feel like I never fully woke up for work last night. I’m going to be very upset if I wake up and find out it was actually a dream and I still have to go in. You may laugh but it’s happened to me before. It felt like I worked a double shift.

On a side note, I have a question. Do any of you use Google+? I have had an account for awhile but never used it because I already use Facebook but I attened my first hangout last night and it was pretty cool talking to a bunch of people all over the country face to face. I was just wondering what you think about it.

image

Leave a comment

Filed under Drinking, Writing

Leave a Reply

